

Surge Energy Inc. Announces Annual General Meeting Voting Results

CALGARY, ALBERTA (May 16, 2017) –Surge Energy Inc. (the "Company" or "Surge") (TSX: SGY) announces that at its annual meeting of shareholders held on May 16, 2017 the following eight director nominees were elected:

	Votes For		Votes Withheld	
	#	%	#	%
Paul Colborne	88,721,556	98.44	1,409,567	1.56
P. Daniel O'Neil	86,475,272	95.94	3,655,851	4.06
Robert Leach	87,700,477	97.30	2,430,646	2.70
James Pasieka		18,553,32		
	71,577,794	79.42	9	20.58
Keith Macdonald	89,586,948	99.40	544,175	0.60
Murray Smith	87,622,468	97.26	2,468,655	2.74
Colin Davies	89,535,911	99.34	595,212	0.66
Daryl Gilbert			10,171,14	
	79,959,983	88.72	0	11.28

In addition, the issuance of common shares that may be issuable pursuant to unallocated awards under Surge's Stock Option Plan until May 16, 2017 was approved. The results of the ballot were as follows:

Votes For		Votes Against		
#	%	#	%	
85,542,537	94.91	4,588,586	5.09	

In addition, the reduction of the stated capital account of the common shares of the Company by \$750 million was approved. The results of the ballot were as follows:

Votes For		Votes Against		
#	%	#	%	
89,165,239	98.93	965,884	1.07	

In addition, the shareholders also approved the appointment of KPMG Chartered Accounts LLP as auditors for the ensuing year.

FURTHER INFORMATION:

For more information, please contact:

Paul Colborne, Chairman, President & CEO

Surge Energy Inc. Phone: (403) 930-1507 Fax: (403) 930-1011

Email: pcolborne@surgeenergy.com

Paul Ferguson, CFO Surge Energy Inc. Phone: (403) 930-1021

Fax: (403) 930-1011

Email: pferguson@surgeenergy.ca

Neither the TSX nor its Regulation Services Provider (as that term is defined in the policies of the TSX) accepts responsibility for the adequacy or accuracy of this release.